L is for … Livestock

20663834_1653908137977513_2432747832419961569_nDespite growing up in a predominantly rural part of the country, I have never been a country boy. So close proximity to farm animals still comes as something of a shock. I hadn’t really given it much thought, but as with presumably any National Trail you inevitably end up walking through plenty of fields of cows.

The problem was my first real experience of this on the ODP was by far the worst. I can’t say I hadn’t been warned. Siriol Griffiths, who walked the entire circumference of Wales in 2016, mentions this field near Pandy where the bullocks get a little randy, and as I crossed in early evening it shook me up a little. Whether I was the point of interest or not, the herd kept wandering, occasionally trotting (do cows trot? Horses trot, sheep gambol, what do cows do?) into my personal space, then breaking off, then coming back. I was certainly relieved to close the gate on that field.

Was it always like this?

I’m glad to say no, it’s not. Most herds barely register your presence, as long as you give them a wide berth. The only real issue is if they happen to be blocking the gate or stile. On the Welshpool to Llanymynech stretch by the Severn, its cow pasture as far as the eye can see at times.

Leave a comment